A Day in the Life

Thanks to everyone that has read the journal and posted comments. We are glad you like the updates, and we love to hear how cute Ben is. 🙂

Ben is doing so well we are amazed each day at his progress. He has been looking really good this week, his color has been great, he is having no problems breathing (other than his usual issues, but no new stuff) and he is actuallly gaining weight. When we weighed him today he was a whopping eight pounds and three ounces. The nurse said that it is amazing that he is even gaining weight, and that we should be proud of that…and we are! Scott and I are thinking that if Ben stays sort of the same this week and continues to do well that we will call the cardiologist next week and see if we can schedule an appointment to see how he is really doing. One day at a time.

When Kim (the nurse) visited today, she had a great idea about Ben’s troubles with his carseat. When Ben rides in the carseat, his chin gets buried in his chest and he can’t breathe very well, and this puts him in a lot of distress. Someone on the hospice team suggested to her that we try rolling a receiving blanket or burp cloth up and putting it behind his neck (like you would do for a sore neck). This would tilt his head back just enough that he could breathe comfortably. We tried this while she was here, and Ben didn’t seem to mind it, so we may take him for a walk in the carseat attached to the stroller later this weekend and try it out. If he does well, that may mean that we are mobile again! Scott and I have been able to get out a little, Grandma Jane stayed with Ben on monday while we got our taxes done, and I went to the gym on tuesday of this week. Leaving Ben is really hard. I know that all new mommys have problems leaving for the first time, but with Ben it is really really hard because he is really special.

Today and yesterday were so beautiful that we were able to get outside and work in the yard. Ben got all bundled, and we laid him in the stroller (which reclines almost all the way) so he could go outside too. The fresh air and sunshine were good for all of us! Ben had lots of awake time studying the sunbeams (and his hand…but what can you do…he’s a month old). We will be getting out more often. We also tried out his baby carrier (the Bjorn) which Scott or I can wear on our fronts and he sits in…he didn’t mind it too much. We’ll see how that goes.

Till next time…

title or description
Everyone is captivated by Ben…

title or description
Maybe just take a little off the top…

title or description
Baby Mohawk

title or description
If you look really close, you can see Ben’s oh-so-attractive milk drool….yum.

20 Responses to “A Day in the Life”

  1. Anonymous Says:

    Thanks for giving the update. Its great to see the pictures. Jill’s been keeping me up to date. Congratulations on having such a beautiful baby.

    Your cousin Tony

  2. Anonymous Says:

    He is SO CUTE

    Have we mentioned how cute he is??

    Glad you guys are able to get out in the nice weather!

    Love to all,
    Melissa

  3. purlewe Says:

    oh happy still life of family with child.

    Thank you for updating. I love hearing all about Ben and your adventures.

    hugs from auntie Anj

  4. Anonymous Says:

    baby ben

    Hello Randall family,
    My name is Allison Emmerling (James wife). James has been greatful to forward over your messages. I have been keeping your family in my thoughts each and every day. Ben is absolutely amazing and beautiful. I love seeing his pictures and hearing how well he is doing.
    I know that James and I have been through alot with our little guys and seeing them struggle for life has been one of the most difficult things to witness. I believe that the one thing that these amazing little guys have given us is such inner strength that can never be taken away.
    I know that you have great family support, but if there is anything we can do – we would be honored.
    Cheerish each and every day.
    Your friend,
    Allison Emmerling

  5. Anonymous Says:

    baby ben

    Hello Randall family,
    My name is Allison Emmerling (James wife). James has been grateful to forward over your messages. I have been keeping your family in my thoughts each and every day. Ben is absolutely amazing and beautiful. I love seeing his pictures and hearing how well he is doing.
    I know that James and I have been through alot with our little guys and seeing them struggle for life has been one of the most difficult things to witness. I believe that the one thing that these amazing little guys have given us is such inner strength that can never be taken away.
    I know that you have great family support, but if there is anything we can do – we would be honored.
    Cherish each and every day.
    Your friend,
    Allison Emmerling

  6. Anonymous Says:

    sweet angel

    For a baby that is supposed to be ill, Ben looks awefully good to me. Those pink toes, lips and ear lobes are great signs. And he is so cute that I just want to kiss him all over.

    Good job, guys. This is a baby that is truly loved and (I believe) has remained well because he knows that he is precious and adored.
    ———-
    Love
    Mary Ann

  7. Anonymous Says:

    We are so excited about Ben’s weight gain…..he truly is a blessing, and he is a DOLL!!!! Thanks so much for sharing-we continue to pray and think about the 3 of you daily.
    Love, John and Marsha

  8. ethansma Says:

    Holy Cow!

    This kid just keeps getting cuter and cuter! It’s so awesome that he is doing so well! Whatever you’re doing is working! Love seeing all the pics and reading your updates. Hope to see you soon.
    Prayers,
    Karen, Jeff, and Ethan

  9. dc_chick06 Says:

    Aww, Mrs. Randall, He’s SO cute! Wish i could see him for real! I’m glad that he’s having a good week, and I hope that it continues! We all miss you in AP and wish you were back! I hope the best for you, Scott, and Baby Ben! So until next time…

    Have a good one!

    -Brandy Van Camp

  10. Anonymous Says:

    Hi Kim and Scott,

    It’s Solana. Just wanted to let you know that I’m still checkign in and following Ben’s progress. You are all in my thoughts! I hope that beautiful little boy of yours keeps gaining weight and showing progress!

    Solana

  11. Anonymous Says:

    Ben

    Scott & Kim,
    What a wonderful Angel god gave you. Looking at the pic’s , I can see that there is a special family there. Isn’t it great to
    be in this time to be able to share Ben’s wonderful Life Via internet.
    God Bless The Wonderful Randall Family. Keep on posting.
    Kim we miss you..

    Sarah
    LuterS01@wsdmi.org
    Waterford Mott High School

  12. Anonymous Says:

    I have never done this before so I hope you get this message. I was thrilled to finally be able to see Ben’s beautiful face!!!! I was brought to tears. I have tried to stay updated through the proud Corliss grandparents, but until you put a face with the name, he just wasn’t as real to me. I am so happy for you and for the time you have been given with Ben. I say a prayer each that God will perform a miracle and heal Ben. He is so precious. You are in my thoughts and I hope as soon as I can do something to help you two out, you will let me know. Love, Sarah Paine

  13. Anonymous Says:

    It is great news that Ben is doing so well! With all the complications, it’s wonderful to know that you are having lots of positive, loving moments with him as well. If there is anything we can do, let us know!

    J.J.

  14. zoobily_zoo Says:

    Hello!

    This is Molly Parry. I met you both at Mackinac Island last year (I’m Sarah Paine’s niece). Sarah said that you had started a livejournal, so I was very excited to take a peak and see the new little one! He’s sooo cute! Babies are always a blessing, but I believe that Ben has already touched so many people. You are always in my prayers, and I am so excited to see that things are going well. I will look forward to seeing more pictures and watching his progress!

  15. xosmurfzruleox Says:

    Awe!

    Mrs Randall, he is absolutely beautiful. I’m so glad to hear that you guys are having a good week, i hope that continues =)
    Have no worries about us in AP, we’re doing fine and will continue to do fine until the ap test is over. We love and miss you.
    Thinking of you and the family always,
    Nikki Inman

  16. xeternaltangox Says:

    Mrs Randall!

    Mr. Mantas gave me this address and i knew i had to check it out.

    Ben is the cutest baby ever, and i’m very happy for you guys. =)

    Love you and miss you lots,
    Jeff Bray

  17. Anonymous Says:

    Oh my gosh is Ben cute!!!! i love being able to see more pictures of him! (not to mention your comentary is 1000 times better than that of mr.mantis and JVG… no offence guys) I’ve missed having you in class and i was thinking of you on sat. when we bought tickets to go see wicked. I’m glad to see how much you’re enjoying your time with Ben and it means alot to me that you opened this livejournal to give us all a sneak peak of the greatness you get 24/7. Give Ben lots of kisses for me b/c he is the cutest little thing ever! and dont forget to sing him tuns of show tunes -we dont want him to be uncultured 😉
    ~Meghan Codd

  18. nivahunter Says:

    Ben is adorable. Such a cute baby! Hope you three are well!
    -Virginia

  19. Anonymous Says:

    Ben is adorable!

    Mrs. Randall, this is Chelsea Tegart, just wanted to tell you that Ben is extremely cute. We have been keeping you guys in our prayers at my house, and we miss you all. Hope things are going well for your family. we miss you. Lots of love

    ♥ Chelsea

  20. milanase24 Says:

    what a cutie

    its me again i cant leave this page ben is sooo cute i must admit even better looking than me

Leave a Reply

