On The Road Again

This week has been an eventful one in Ben’s life. We tried the carseat trick using a blanket behind his neck for support, and it worked okay. We are able to take him out on small trips now. Nothing too large, but we did get out to Costco earlier this week, and we went to Grandma and Grandpa Corliss’ house today for a visit. Ben visited, Scott and I took our neice to see the lambs at the farm, then went out to run errands.

title or description

In addition to this, we have made an appointment with the cardiologist to have Ben’s heart peeked at! We are going in next friday, and we’ll see how that goes. Scott and I are both VERY excited to have Ben looked at again and see where we’re at and where we are going. Ben didn’t gain any weight this week, but he continues to eat okay and still looks good. Let’s hope that keeps up!
We have started trying some constructive play with Ben to work on his muscle tone and gross motor skills. We had planned at this point to have made contact with an early intervention program so that we could start working with Ben on some of the challenges he will face with his Down Syndrome. All of that has proved to overwhelming right now with everything else going on. We have a few books on motor skills in children with Down Syndrome, though, and have been reading up and working with Ben a little on our own. Since he’s here, we want his time to be as normal as possible, and do everything for him that we planned. He is awake so much more often during the day now! It is fun to lay him on the floor and play with him. He even has a favorite toy, which we have named Senior Elphanso. Here we see them plotting together.

title or description

The last new bit of news is that we are now getting REAL SMILES out of Ben, eyes and everything. šŸ™‚ It is the neatest thing to see him look right at you and smile. We even caught one on film.

title or description

That’s all for now, I do want to add that Scott and I both love all the comments. It is hard to reply to all of them, which is why we don’t…but we read them and they make us smile and go “awww”. šŸ™‚ Thanks so much.

Just a few last pictures:
title or description

Ben’s fancy pants. They are HUGE on him, but like most things, the length is just right. He looks so stylish in them. šŸ™‚ All the kids are wearing them now.

title or description

This is what Ben’s Grandpa Corliss does to his hair. Comb-overs all around. He looks like he’s all ready for his mid-life crisis here.

16 Responses to “On The Road Again”

  1. twoscoopsmsu Says:

    Dance too much baby in the pants! I LOVE that picture!

    ~Aunt Karen

  2. Anonymous Says:

    from Melissa

    YAY!!! SMILE PICTURES!!!!!!

    love,
    Melissa

  3. Anonymous Says:

    So glad to hear that Ben continues to do fairly well. The pictures are just adorable! From experience, I know how difficult it is to try to balance a “normal” life with trying to care for a loved one–it sounds like you are doing a GREAT job. We’ll be praying for a good test result come Friday.

    J.J.

  4. purlewe Says:

    See.. this is the best part of my week. Catching up on you and Scott and Ben. I love hearing from you. (I really should try to call again.) The pictures make me feel so much love for you guys. WHAT A GREAT SMILE! And he is so handsome. Kiss his face for me.. Tell him Auntie Anjy loves him.

    And I love you two as well. Hugs from Philly.

  5. Anonymous Says:

    Wow he looks great!!!!

    I am so happy for you both that he is doing so well. I wish for you all that the trip to the doctors is a happy and hopeful one. You have me looking forward to every update.
    XOXO
    Angela

  6. Anonymous Says:

    That’s amazing that something as simple as a blanket behind the head can make the difference in enabling Ben to ride in the carseat; Glad to hear it worked!
    -Jay
    ps- I still can’t help but think of MC Hammer seeing pics of Ben in his fancy pants. šŸ˜€

  7. Anonymous Says:

    I think he looks rather stylish with the combing. But then, I’m the one who did the combing.

    Grandpa C.

  8. Anonymous Says:

    Smiler

    If that isn’t the most mischievous grin I have ever seen, Ben makes us all smile.. Good thoughts coming your way for the cardiologist visit.. Thanks again for keeping us all in touch Love ya! Trish ( Mum)xxxooo

  9. dpepsimobil Says:

    Mrs.Randall,
    I just got this web adress from Mr.Mantes and I thought I would come and see the pictures of your beautiful baby. Ben truely is a mircle and I hope things continue to go well. We all miss you and are praying for you.
    ~Anjelica Jones~

  10. dc_chick06 Says:

    He just gets cuter every day! And WOW, he’s got long legs! I hope all goes well at the cardiologist, and that you get good news, whatever that news may be. Again, you’re always in our thoughts, as is Ben! Looking forward to the next update!

    -Brandy Van Camp

  11. Anonymous Says:

    hi

    We all miss BabyBen. Glad to hear that he is doing well. Give him a big hug and kiss from us. Love, Jody Avery and Steve
    PS:Found my ring in the lunch bag…probably put it there knowing that I wouldn’t forget it (that worked well). J

  12. purpletoweluser Says:

    Hi Mrs. Randall,

    I just got Ben’s lj from Mr. Mantis. My mom and I love to look at all his cute pictures and read up on his progress.
    Ben is just so cute! He looks like a little dancing machine! šŸ˜€ his smiles are so adorable!
    You are all in our thoughts. Ben is such a blessing to everyone.

    Ashley Builta

  13. Anonymous Says:

    I just wanted to say you have an absolute beautiful baby on your hands. I just smile and smile while looking at his pictures. You guys have something so special to be EXTRA very proud of. Now that I have the website address I make this a every other day stop just to see Beautiful Ben updates! šŸ™‚

    I also have a son that is 18 months and he just loves babies. I showed him the pictures of Ben and he said “GUNG GUNG” which is his way of saying baby.

    BTW – I work with Therese.

    Have a Great Week – Kristina

  14. ethansma Says:

    Hellooooo!

    Hi there! So happy for my weekly update on Ben! I’m sending good thoughts your way for the week. Hope the cardiologist trip goes well for you! I so enjoy these pictures watching Ben’s development. That smile is priceless!
    Love, love!
    Spez

Leave a Reply

