Ben gets culture, and other news

Just a few tidbits about Ben and how he’s doing.

On friday we took Ben to Cranbrook’s Art museum, they had an exhibition of all kinds of art from people enrolled in their graduate degree program. Scott and I needed to get out…Ben probably liked the art, but since he was snoozing in the Bjorn the whole time, it’s hard to tell. πŸ™‚ (A Bjorn, for those who don’t know…is a front facing baby carrier. It goes on like a backpack but the important stuff is in the front: that’s where Ben sits.) We also went to visit Scott’s grandmother (Ben’s “Big Nana”) this weekend, had dinner and got some plants for the garden. Ben is travleing so much better now and we love getting out with him.

I have even become more adventurous with Ben, in fact last week was a banner week. I gave Ben my first “solo mom” bath, which went well, and we also went grocery shopping together. I had never taken him out on my own before, and it went quite well. Our days are starting to get into a little bit of a routine…up at seven or so, eat, play, eat, play, nap, eat….sometimes there are errands in there. Ben is getting better about his naps, but we still aren’t there.

The biggest news of all is that Ben has started sleeping through the night! He will crash at about six PM, and we give him his last feeding at nine thirty or ten, and won’t wake up until about seven the next morning! He usually sleeps about a half hour to an hour in the morning after he has breakfast, and about an hour in the afternoon…and ALL NIGHT. Now, of course, I put off putting this in the journal…not wanting to jinx anything…and of course last night he was up every four hours. πŸ™‚ Ahh well. Ben lives by his own rules, that’s for sure.

Yesterday we set up dates to meet with the early intervention people from Walled Lake Schools. Sounds like they will give us some tips on how to position Ben and play with him to help his motor skills develop on schedule. We will meet with them at the end of the month. As we have said all along…since Ben is here, Scott and I feel it is important to live with him as normally as possible. This includes his education and development.

That’s all for now, friends. Enjoy the spring weather out there!

9 Responses to “Ben gets culture, and other news”

  1. Anonymous Says:

    hi

    So glad to see that Ben is enjoying fine art! We liked the pictures. He gets cuter every minute. Love, Jody Steve and Avery

  2. Anonymous Says:

    You three are so special! It just warms my heart to read each entry. Know that you are loved and thought about every day and held in prayer by multitudes of people.

    Carol Ingells

  3. dc_chick06 Says:

    I’m glad you’re getting out more, and with Ben! Glad things are still going good as well. I’m still looking forward to you coming back! Only one month left!

    -Brandy Van Camp

  4. nivahunter Says:

    Congrats on giving little Ben a well-rounded education. I hope his health is going well, and all my thoughts are with you…. well, most of my thoughts-I still need to think of schoolwork and such!
    -Virginia.
    PS: The anime movie that your icon is from was a cute movie! ^_^

  5. Anonymous Says:

    Mrs. Randall! I haven’t seen you in forever! I’m glad to hear things are still alright =)

    I absoloutly LOVE the fact that you have a Totoro icon!

    You are officially the coolest teacher in the entire world.

    • coffeemomma Says:

      I love Ben but I do miss my “other” babies. πŸ™‚ I’m enjoying my time at home, but I will be happy to see you all after memorial day. πŸ™‚ Be good!!!

  6. xeternaltangox Says:

    i’m dumb at livejournal. i really didn’t mean to post anonymously =)

    my comment was screened though. =)

Leave a Reply

