Ben’s Greatest Hits

It’s so modern of me, but I have a playlist on Itunes for Ben. I started this when I found out I was pregnant, and I’ve added to it…the songs really reflect the journey Scott and I have been on with Ben. I have been thinking for awhile I would like to share with everyone what is on Ben’s list of songs. If you have any songs you think would be good for “Ben’s Greatest”, please comment and let me know, I would love to see this grow. 🙂

The songs, in no particular order:

I Don’t Wanna Miss a Thing – Aerosmith
Baby Mine – Alison Krauss
Forever Young – Rod Stewart
Con Ti Partiro (Time to Say Goodbye) – Andrea Bocelli
Let It Be – The Beatles
Lullaby – Billy Joel
You’re The Love of My Life – Carly Simon
Close to You – The Carpenters
You’re the Inspiration – Chicago
Longer – Dan Fogelberg
The One Who Knows – Dar Williams
Godspeed (Sweet Dreams) – Dixie Chicks
I’ll Take Care of You – Dixie Chicks
Vincent – Don MacLean
Till The Rivers All Run Dry – Don Williams
This Love Will Carry – Dougie MacLean
Your Song – Elton John
How Can I Keep From Singing? – Enya
Everlong (Acoustic) – Foo Fighters
Wrapped Up In You – Garth Brooks
Just the Two Of Us – Grover Washington
Cats in the Cradle – Harry Chapin
Fare The Well – Indigo Girls
You’re Beautiful – James Blunt
Sweet Baby James – James Taylor
Time in a Bottle – Jim Croce
For Baby, For Bobby – John Denver
For You – John Denver
Beautiful Boy – John Lennon
Making Memories of Us – Keith Urban
Ben – Michael Jackson
Rainbow Connection – Muppets
When I Fall In Love – Nat King Cole
Mother and Child Reunion – Paul Simon
In Your Eyes – Peter Gabriel
You’ll Be In My Heart – Phil Collins
Nightswimming – REM
Forever Young – Alphaville
I will Remember You – Sarah McLachlan
Angel – Sarah McLachlan
Love’s Divine – Seal
I Don’t Know Why – Shawn Colvin
By My Side – Godspell Soundtrack, Stephen Schwarz
On Children – Sweet Honey in the Rock
Beautiful Day – U2
Roots and Wings – Linda Hirschhorn with Vocolot

…so there is some pretty obscure stuff on there (don’t look for vocolot on Itunes, you won’t find them…) but it reflects my muscial tastes (and Scotts) pretty well….
Like the best music geek, I could also post for each song the line that reminds me most of Ben, and why each song means something…but this entry would be far too long.

Anything to add? Comment and let me know. 🙂

17 Responses to “Ben’s Greatest Hits”

  1. Anonymous Says:

    Ooo, ooo, me too! Me too!

    Ok, so when it comes to the music geek bit, I feel I have to step in and have my say…

    My thoughts on a perfect addition: “On the Sunny Side of the Street.” It just seems to fit your little family so well…listen to a bunch and pick your favorite…mine is Frank Sinatra, but it was also done by Judy Garland, Louis Armstrong, Cyndi Lauper, and others…

    I hope you think it fits as much as I do!

    Love,
    Regina

  2. Anonymous Says:

    Reaching – Carolyn Arends

    matt bell

  3. Anonymous Says:

    Baby song from the O’Gormans

    One of my favorites songs for my kids is I Knew I Loved you by Savage Garden. I love your song list, maybe we could get a copy??
    we would love to meet little Ben!! He is very cute!!

    • Anonymous Says:

      Re: Baby song from the O’Gormans

      Any songs you don’t have or can’t find I would be happy to burn for you. 🙂 I think the whole thing is to long for one CD at this point…maybe we could have volume I and volume II. 🙂
      I wonder if I should not have mentioned burning the CD….maybe I could go to the hoosegow for that…..eeek…..

  4. Anonymous Says:

    “You are so beautiful” by Joe Cocker.

    Grandpa C.

  5. zoobily_zoo Says:

    “I Care” – Tom T. Hall

    It makes me cry every time I sing it to Tristan. Baby Mine from Dumbo has always made me cry, even pre-baby.

  6. dc_chick06 Says:

    Spend My Time by Clint Black 🙂

    -Brandy

  7. Anonymous Says:

    I think Bette Midler the Rose would fit nicely in that list and with Ben

    Sarah

  8. Anonymous Says:

    Three ideas for the Classic Ben CD:
    “The Prayer”, Josh Groban and Charlotte Church
    “Where You Are”, Josh Groban
    “You Life Me Up”, Josh Groban

    I was listening to these this morning on the way to work and thinking of the Randall Family! Nancy Q

    • Anonymous Says:

      Oops

      That last one is supposed to be “You Lift Me Up” but it might also be called “You Raise Me Up”. See, this is why I don’t have an IPod. I can’t even get the names of songs straight!!! Hope you all are enjoying this rainy Saturday afternoon. Nancy Q

  9. Anonymous Says:

    just to say hello

    hello to the randall family from the cardillo’s Ben is beautiful, I mean hansome!!!! Sound like everything is going well. give some love and hugs to ben from all of us Take care. mary

  10. Anonymous Says:

    Dedicated to the One I Love

    Linda Ronstadt’s “Dedicated to the One I Love”
    Any of the songs… they’re all great!

  11. Anonymous Says:

    Hello! Mrs. Randall and family,
    I was looking at this amazing list of songs and thought “You’re Beautiful” by James Blunt should be on this list (&then i saw it!) but this came to mind because i was looking at all of the pictures of your beautiful baby Ben. I’ve been praying for you and i love you Mrs. Randall. I have missed you so much, but i feel selfish for saying that, because I don’t even compare in importance to your son. I just wanted to leave you a little message to let you know that i can’t wait to see you, and i hope and pray that everything is going well with you. i have been thinking about you non-stop, especially on this day, Mother’s Day, i hope yours is an extraordinary one.

    I love and miss you, we all do.
    with love and prayers
    your student, Kristina Marks

  12. Anonymous Says:

    Re: Baby song from the O’Gormans

    I think you’re in the clear as long as you refer to the burned CD as a “back-up” copy for “personal use”. 🙂

    One song that I really like is the version of The Garden Song, by John Denver and the Muppets … but I’m a sucker for anything with Kermit

Leave a Reply

