Happy Mother’s Day!

Happy Mother’s Day! I hope everyone had a great day, and that you all did something nice for your Mom. šŸ™‚

Thanks for all the musical tips…keep them coming. I love the suggestions, and I’m adding them as I get them. Itunes is a great gift to music geeks everywhere. šŸ™‚

Since it was raining, we all stayed indoors like slugs, watched DVDs and played with Ben. Not a bad way to spend a day at all. Yes, there were things that needed to be done in the garden, but it was a bit too soggy for all that. Last night we had some friends over to meet Ben for the first time, and he was charming and beautiful…until bed time rolled around, at which point he began to cry and would not be soothed. Mom had to swoop in and take him off to dream land….he’s not such a party animal as he would have everyone believe. šŸ™‚

I won’t wax too nostalgic for you all, but I will say this: since I wasn’t sure I would have a mother’s day with Ben, just getting to have him here is a gift. I have said this to many people, and I want to say it again to all of you reading: I know you are all praying for a miracle. I want you to remember that it is just as important to see the miracle when it happens as it is to pray and believe that one can happen. Ben is still here. Each day is a miracle. Pray not for him to heal, pray that all of us who know him can see his life for what it is: a beautiful gift. When we fail to see that, we fail to see the miracle we pray for.

On a lighter note….

title or description
And so you see how my mother’s day went: surrounded by love. The coffee, the Ben, the cat…what more could I want?

title or description
We use this pillow as arm support when feeding Ben…when he’s asleep, he’ll just lay where you put him. This just looked so funny to me I had to take a picture. Oh, and note the giraffe socks. Another thing that turns me into a squeeling idiot: cute baby socks.

title or description
The real focal point of this picture should be Ben’s hair, which stands up on end after his bath. It adds a good two inches to his height…I don’t comb it after this, because it’s just too awesome like this. šŸ™‚

title or description
He’s changing every day….he’s not a baby any more, he’s such a big boy! We’re working on head and neck control now….and he’s getting so strong!

title or description
AND….Ben has recently discovered his hands…and apparently they are the most fascinating thing in the world. šŸ™‚ In fact, when we go in to wake him up in the morning, he is already awake…only he usually isn’t making noise, because those hands are just too darn interesting!

10 Responses to “Happy Mother’s Day!”

  1. Anonymous Says:

    Mother’s Day

    Kim, your reflection brought tears to my eyes. We should all look at our children as gifts, for they truly are. Some are here longer than others but the sentiment should be the same; we are blessed to be touched by the light of love.
    ———
    Love
    Mary Ann

    P.S. THE CAT IS BIGGER THAN BEN!!!! Egad!

    • coffeemomma Says:

      Re: Mother’s Day

      hahaha. When we brought Ben home, we kept looking at Tas (the cat) and saying to each other “Geez!!! He’s HUGE!” Tas is twelve pounds, so he is bigger than Ben, who measured Ten the past two weeks.
      At least only one of them is growing.

  2. dc_chick06 Says:

    It’s a little late, but Happy Mother’s Day anyways! He just gets cuter everyday!

    Brandy

  3. twoscoopsmsu Says:

    That last picture is just priceless!

    And lets not forget Ben’s amazing pancake making abilities! šŸ˜‰


    Aunt Karen

  4. hunterholstein Says:

    His hair looks like mine did in the morning while we were in Germany! He has his auntie’s hair! Yippee! Go Cocks!

  5. Anonymous Says:

    Miracle Man

    I love you Baby Ben! I miss you kitty! Love, Avery

    He is so cute! J

  6. chiclette03 Says:

    Hello my fearless leader. And a happy happy (late) Mother’s Day!

    If you haven’t guessed already this is Michele. I’ve been reading your journal since Mr. Mantas gave it to us but I was never sure what to post. I am so happy that Ben is doing okay and that you have been able to spend all this time with him. When Ms. McGee told us (it seems so long ago) I took it really hard, wondering why all this could happen to someone so sweet and caring. But then I thought that you were the perfect person for this situation. Your immense patience and understanding and kindness makes you the perfect mother for little, baby Ben Randallicious.

    I guess all I have left is that I miss you a ton and I want you back but I’ll just have to wait my turn and be content knowing that Ben gets to see your smiling face every day.

    I love you.

    love, Michele (your ever dutiful chemistry aid)

    • coffeemomma Says:

      You? you I love. šŸ™‚

      Thanks Michele. šŸ™‚ You are very sweet to say these things. šŸ™‚
      I miss you too, and I will be back before I know it. (and before you know it too) Be good to Mr. Mantas, I’m sure you’re his right arm, helping him like you help me out (though he probably has more of a grip on reality than I do, haha). šŸ™‚

      • Anonymous Says:

        Re: You? you I love. šŸ™‚

        (though he probably has more of a grip on reality than I do, haha). šŸ™‚

        I don’t know about all that.

        Nicholas Mantas

  7. Anonymous Says:

    belated happy mother’s day.we love you

    DEAR KIM, I’M SO GLAD YOU HAD A GREAT MOTHER’S DAY
    WE ARE SO SORRY IT HAS TAKEN US SO LONG TO CONTACT YOU AND SCOTT, WE WANTED TO CALL BUT KNEW YOU WERE SO BUSY WITH OUR LITTLE “BEN” AND DIDN’T WANT TO INTERFERE! WE ARE SO HAPPY AND PROUD OF YOU, YOU ARE
    BEING SO STRONG AND MAKING THE BEST OF YOUR TIME!
    WE ARE AND HAVE BEEN ALWAYS PRAYING FOR YOU ALL, I
    THINK THIS JOURNAL IS SUCH A GREAT IDEA AND YOU ARE
    DOING A GREAT JOB WITH IT I’M SURE IT IS AND WILL BE
    A GREAT HELP TO OTHERS GOING THROUGH HURTFUL AND TRYING TIMES LIKE YOURS, IT IS SO GREAT THAT YOU ARE
    SHARING YOUR TIME WITH EVERYONE, I KNOW GOD GAVE
    “BEN TO YOU BECAUSE YOU ARE SUCH SPECIAL PEOPLE AND
    PARENTS, HE NEEDED TO TAKE CARE OF HIM. ITS ALSO
    WONDERFUL THAT YOU ARE GETTING TIME TO TAKE PICTURES AND MAKE MANY MEMORIES WITH “BEN” TOO! THERE ARE SO MANY GREAT PICTURES HE IS SO CUTE , THAT I CANNOT
    PICK ONE SPECIAL ONE, THEY ARE ALL SPECIAL, RIGHT??
    I PRAY EVERYDAY THAT GOD ENCAMPS ROUND YOU TO GIVE
    YOU STRENGHT, COMFORT, AND HELP YOU THROUGH EACH NEW DAY AND I KNOW HE ANSWERES, CONTINUE TO ENJOY YOUR
    TIME, KNOWING THAT WE LOVE YOU ALL DEARLY, I WISH
    WE COULD VISIT, OR JUST BE ABLE TO TALK TO YOU,
    BUT WE UNDERSTAND TIME IS PRECIOUS AND YOU ALL NEED
    TIME TO REST AS WELL!! KEEP UP THE GOOD WORK AND
    GOD BLESS ALL OF YOU!!

    GIVE OUR BEN A BIG HUG AND KISS FROM US ( YOU TOO)!

    ALL OUR LOVE

    AUNT JOYE & UNCLE GARY//MY E-MAIL MOMLALONE@AOL.COM

Leave a Reply

