Just a quick thought…

“I’ll lend you for a little time a child of Mine” He said
“For you to love the while he lives and mourn for when he’s dead
It may be six or seven years, or twenty-two or -three,
But will you, till I call him back, take care of him for Me?
He’ll bring his charms to gladden you, and shall his stay be brief
You’ll have his lovely memories as solace for your grief.
I cannot promise he will stay, since all from earth return,
But there are lessons taught down there I want this child to learn.
I’ve looked the wide world over in my search for teachers true
And from the throngs that crowd life’s lanes I have selected you
Now will you give him all your love, nor think the labor vain,
Nor hate Me when I come to call to take him back again?”
I fancied that I heard them say: ‘Dear Lord, They will be done.’
For all the joy Thy child shall bring, the risk of grief we’ll run.
We’ll shelter him with tenderness, we’ll love him while we may
And for the happiness we’ve known forever grateful stay;
But shall the angels call for him much sooner than we’ve planned,
We’ll brave the bitter grief that comes and try to understand.”

-Edgar Guest

5 Responses to “Just a quick thought…”

  1. Anonymous Says:

    That is beautiful, Kym. Heartbreakingly so! May it bring you some measure of comfort and courage. Indeed you and Scott are among the few people I’ve known who could so lovingly and inspirationally accept this painful “assignment”. May you be strongly aware that the Presence is with you–every moment–and will keep you connected to Ben forever.

    Love and prayers,
    Carol

  2. dc_chick06 Says:

    Wow, that kind of puts life in general into perspective.

  3. Anonymous Says:

    Edgar Guest

    I can only assume that the poet had suffered such a loss himself ,yet had somehow found a profound acceptance.. Amazing and so very beautiful.. ……..Congrats on double sized Ben!!!!! TEE! HEE! .Love and Hugs.. Trish xxxooo

  4. hunterholstein Says:

    Wow. I don’t know if I told you a kinda sortof family member faced the same kind of thing about a year and a half ago. They found out their daughter had Down Syndrome, then some heart defects. They chose to terminate the pregnancy. I had mixed feelings about it, to be honest, but I knew it was the best thing for them — she works literally all over the world and he is a business owner, so the first kid was raised by the nanny. They aren’t the kind of parents who are capable of a challenge. They need the cookie-cutter, Dr. Spock kind of kid.

    I can’t speak for Ben’s Daddy, but I know Ben’s Mommy has always loved a challenge, tackled it head-on, and given it 100%. God doesn’t make mistakes. God chose Ben’s family and friends very carefully. We are all so very fortunate to be witnesses to the miracle that is Benjamin Scott Randall.

    • coffeemomma Says:

      It’s not terrible

      There are days when remembering this is the only thing that gets me through. Not many, but they are there. I was picked for this, by God, Allah, the Buddah, the Universe, The Goddess, Ben himself, who the hell knows. But yes, I was picked. And I love every minute of it. 🙂

Leave a Reply

