Why isn’t sassy a mood icon?

Guh. I went out this weekend with some other moms from the Downs support group. In a weird way, it was the best time I have had in months. I had on a complete outfit that was clean and smelled nice. My hair was done. My makeup was done (I used to do my makeup every day. Now I don’t remember until it’s too late). I had on jewelry. I was wearing shoes with heels. They were CUTE. It felt good. I need to be taken out. Last time I went out with Scott I looked like ass because I saved myself for last and his mom was here by then to watch Ben, so there were a million other things I was doing, including catching up with her. Then we were in the car and I realized that I looked like something the cat leaves on the carpet.

The weird thing about all of this is that I DON’T care. I have found myself equating to the women I know who have come through breast cancer (with apologies to them) in that I do not care what others think of me. I care what I think. The funniest thing about this is that for the first time in years, I do not cringe every single time I look at myself in a picture. It’s like my attitude and my self image are finally together.

It is a beautiful thing. 🙂

Leave a Reply

