the noisy lump of fur

Last night Scott and I witnessed our first “meeting of the minds”…that is, the first prolonged period where Ben and the cat (Tas) were in close contact. Ben has, lately, been quite enamored of the cat. He loves to watch him walk and cry for attention…you can see Ben’s brain trying to figure out how to get over and check out that big lump of fur. Tas crawled up in my lap last night, and Ben was in Scott’s lap. We could see Ben look at Scott, then at me, and he got all excited…smiled and giggled. We inched the two closer together. Pretty soon Ben was petting, grabbing, patting and alternately smiling like crazy and Scott and I…”Look you guys, I got it!”. Tas was amazingly mellow and put up with a lot from Ben. We had a good two or three minutes of contact. Seems like it is true that pets will put up with way more from a kid than they will from an adult. Too bad we don’t have any pictures….but there was no one to take them!

I know that I keep saying Ben is eating like mad, but the truth is…he eats exactly what he wants to. He has gotten a bit pickier than we like lately. If he could eat fruit and yogurt for every meal, we’d be fine, but of course that is not going to happen. He loves peas, too, so those are always good. Every other veggie is touch and go… sometimes he’ll eat it, sometimes he will turn his head and refuse to even take a bite. Right now we are in the stage where we offer him his dinner (always veggies for dinner), and if he eats it, fine. If not, then we move right on to his bottle and don’t offer him another option. Even things that he used to love (like squash) are now a no go. I figure we’ll do a couple days of peas, then reintroduce some other things. I don’t want to get in the habit of “traveling” from food to food if he refuses something at a meal. At this point, I”m more worried about myself learning to give in than I am in Ben learning that he can get what he wants. I figure this is good practice for me learning how to be a good parent. haha. Sometimes Ben will eat some chicken…if I mix it in with some peaches. We are working on decreasing the amount of peaches and increasing the amount of chicken. It’s a problem because of the texture as well as the stronger taste. Yesterday Ben ate some shreds of cheese, and really enjoyed it. We just keep working on this food thing. I figure that the more variety we offer Ben, he will develop good food habits from that. I hope anyway!!!

We have a big week this week….but only one “appointment” each day. The thing is, if I want Ben to be “on” or to be tolerant and happy when we go to an appointment (especially physical therapy), we have to be careful not to over schedule. We spend our tuesdays laying low in the morning so that he has lots of energy for therapy….if we do too much, even run errands in the morning, then he’s all tired when we get to school. It’s hard to remember sometimes how easily he will tire out, because Ben is so mellow all the time. The problem is, when he is done, it’s over and you won’t get any more out of him…Ben will cry and nap and that’s it. I really try not to be fiendish about his schedule, but for Ben, it is very important that he gets his naps every day. If he does, then we can do a lot more things..and he has a lot more energy. Lots of this is just normal baby stuff, but lots is also just Ben stuff. As he gets older, I really hope we strike that balance between him getting enough time to be a kid and realizing when he needs to rest. I don’t want to shelter Ben or make him believe that he can’t do what all kids do. It’s hard!

Ben had another haircut this weekend…well, half of one….I need to finish up some of the trimming, but he got cranky and fed up with me. We’ll do that soon.

I forgot to post that Ben had an adventure over the holidays…he spent a couple hours with Aunt Karen and her friend when Scott and I went to a wedding….it was all good until the diaper incident….I’ll let you figure that out…but it did involve a particularly foul nappie that was a complete surprise to Karen and Jackie. Lucky for Ben, Scott and I arrived to pick him up at that moment, and were able to save the day. I have pictures…but I think I would pay dearly for posting them here. I can Email them privately though……… hahahahahaha.

3 Responses to “the noisy lump of fur”

  1. twoscoopsmsu Says:

    Release those pictures and you may have a foul nappie or two wind up on your doorstep. Errr…or something intimidating like that! đŸ˜‰

  2. Anonymous Says:

    Hi Mrs. Randall,
    I forgot to give you my email in the last message, so you can email me at smit1017@msu.edu.

    Thanks again,
    Mark

Leave a Reply

