Whoo hoo!

As I wrote on Friday, Ben went back to the cardiologist last week. This is to be a regular occurrence, and we’ll be going about every six months or so. We got news that was pretty good, which is that Ben’s heart has not changed very much from the way it looked last fall. Yes, his heart is slightly enlarged, and yes, the valves are a little (okay, maybe more than a little) leaky, but his heart is working the way only Ben’s heart can, and neither the enlargement nor the leakage is worse than it was last fall. In addition, the coarctation (that was the blood vessel that was closed off and had opened up, helping Ben out) is not NORMAL (which we knew), but seems to be at a point where it is functioning okay for Ben. It is still narrow, but apparently there isn’t a lot of pressure building up from the blood trying to go through. It was very much a “no change is good change” day. We did get a copy of the journal article written on Ben’s heart. It’s a medical journal article, meaning Scott and I can understand most of the words if we read really slow. πŸ™‚ But it’s neat that Ben is all published and stuff. πŸ™‚
In other Cardiology news, Ben was really good through the whole experience…the nurses love him, it was good to see his Doctor (whom we really like talking to), and generally it was a good day. See you again in six months. πŸ™‚
We spent the rest of the weekend busy as usual. Scott and I went to usher at the Masonic Temple for RENT on Saturday, and Ben got some quality Nana and Papa time. Yesterday was a trip to Costco for groceries. As we were waking in, a woman looked at Ben and said “Oh, gosh, he’s REALLY cute”; to which I reply “I know, but I”m biased…” and she says “Oh, No…He’s really really cute”. Well, if that doesn’t make a mother feel good. πŸ™‚ Ben, of course, poured on the charm during this exchange, par for the course.
Today is Physical Therapy…Ben’s a little cranky today so let’s hope that the nap takes care of that and that things look up by the time we go. Here’s hoping!

In non-Ben related news, the blanket I started knitting four months ago is DONE DONE DONE!!!. Seeing as it’s a wedding present for a wedding long since past, I will block it today and send it out. I’m glad to be done with it, it’s lovely…just a throw, not a bedspread, but it really does look nice. It was easy to knit, which is probably why I got so damned sick of it…it was endless in it’s simplicity. But it’s done now, and I can move on to other things. I think I’ll celebrate by buying some new yarn for a pair of socks for myself…after spending the last five months knitting for others (between christmas, the blanket, and birthdays)…I will make myself a nice leisurely pair of socks, I think.

so close!
Ben can actually sit a few seconds on his own if he’s on one of our laps. Usually he gets so excited that he flaps his arms and tips over in his excitement. We all have that problem, though, when we get really excited. πŸ™‚ haha.

almost there
The blanket this weekend….two sides of edging done, I can see the end of the tunnel

All done!!!

Looks a little wonky because it’s not blocked out yet, but it is done, and looks all pretty front and back because even the ends are tucked in and snipped. mmmmm. pretty.

6 Responses to “Whoo hoo!”

  1. veryclose Says:

    do you wish you’d never had kids, with all this happening?

    i kinda don’t want kids, mostly because of things like this or because they might grow up to be drug addicts… heh.

    but it’s a serious question. it’ll probably be hard for you to be honest if others can read your comments though. oh well.

    • coffeemomma Says:

      It’s an excellent question, and one that my husband and I have not been asked. I do not regret the decision to have children, and I never have. I also do not making the decision to have Ben. It’s been hard, and I feel for anyone who has to go through things like this, but it has been more worth it than I would have imagined.
      I don’t think anyone is ever “ready” to have kids…you just get to a point where you’re more “unready” than you were before. There are risks to everything in life, and nothing is guaranteed, so you get all the information you can as you go along and make the decisions that feel right for you. That’s all anyone can do.

  2. purlewe Says:

    its GD gorgeous (both boy and blankie) I am sure Taz will help with blocking. good news, good news all around.

    hugs from me to you.

  3. Anonymous Says:

    Knitting …

    If you are going to knit socks next, I think this is the coolest sock pattern out there!! It is a little to complicated for me (because it isn’t a giant square).

    http://www.knitty.com/ISSUEspring07/PATTbmp.html

    Enjoy!
    Kate

Leave a Reply

