how much is too much?

I do realize I’m tempting the fates as I say this, but I am happy to report that Ben was the only child in our therapy group who did not cry on the first day of school yesterday. Instead of going to individual therapy this year, we go to a group setting where Ben will see a PT*, an OT* and a speech therapist each session. We go on mondays and wednesdays for an hour and fifteen minutes. He did great yesterday, it didn’t hurt that we open with a song, and the teacher handed Ben a tamborine first, then a pair of maracas. My boy loves music, just like his mama. šŸ™‚
In addition to the school setting, we will be continuing private therapy at the clinic this year. Ben will get an additional hour of PT on saturday mornings and one hour of OT on thursday mornings. It sounds like a lot, but Ben won’t need therapy this intense forever (I’ll leave out the obvious jokes about the very different therapy he may need one day after having me as his mom), and right now it is doing him a world of good…so we’ll see how it goes. I’d rather start out with too much and cut back than think he could be doing more and getting something out of it.
Ahhh back to school. But not really. The view out the window this morning in my pj’s is lovely. šŸ™‚

* PT = physical therapy-gross motor skills
* OT = Occupational therapy-fine motor skills

Tags:

2 Responses to “how much is too much?”

  1. purlewe Says:

    that’s great that you two are getting out and getting him motivated. VERY exciting and I am glad he is like his momma in the music catagory. Ya know that is important to me šŸ™‚ (I promise to teach him all the songs I know.. )

    Sending you lots of love today.
    hugs

  2. purlewe Says:

    PS.. I borrowed a book from the library and I am not sure if you would like it or not. Darkly Dreaming Dexter. It is about a man who is a guy who kills people that deserve it BUT he is also a blood spatter lab tech at the local police. kinda gruesome but still a murder mystery as he helps solve cases.. Quite good and has been made into a showtime series.. (which was what turned me on to the book. I don’t get showtime, but I saw a preview weekend and fell in love with the characters)

Leave a Reply

