Baby-related

Just had to share. I have started the process of stocking the freezer for when the baby gets here and neither Scott nor I want to cook. Tonight I made LOTS of stuffed peppers, put them in foil casserole dishes and froze them. We had veggie stuffed peppers for dinner, and they were really good. Here’s the recipe:

1 small onion
1 lb mushrooms (I used white, next time I’ll use shitake or something with more flavor)
1 pkg. frozen spinach (or one bag fresh, I would say)
1 c feta cheese
3 cloves garlic (we like garlic, use less if you don’t)
tops of peppers, diced

will fill 3-4 large or 6 small peppers. I used red peppers, but green is fine too.

Saute the onion and garlic in Olive oil (I don’t know how much, I always just dump some in the pan) over medium high heat. When the onion is translucent, dump in the ‘shrooms. You will saute/sweat this until the onions carmelize and the mushrooms are soft and cooked…5-10 minutes? Add the diced peppers (see below). As this is cooking, make sure the spinach is totally defrosted and squeeze out excess moisture. Add to pan when the onion/’shroom mixture is done, and stir to combine and warm. If using fresh spinach, chop roughly and add to pan a bit earlier so it will thoroughly cook down. You’ll have to play with it, I used frozen, so I’m not sure of the timing.
Transfer to a bowl, mix with feta.

As you are doing this, cut the tops off of the peppers. Reserve the pepper bit around the stem, dice this, and add to the spinach/onion/shroom mixture as indicated above.
Seed and rinse peppers, blanch in boiling water, place in a casserole and stuff. Bake at 350 for about fifteen to twenty minutes.

This is not my recipe, but it was in my recipe folder and I”m not sure where it came from, so I can’t give credit. But please don’t think I made this up. 🙂 The other peppers I made were stuffed with either cous-cous, italian turkey sausage and tomatoes; or yellow rice and ground turkey. All will be delish in december!!!!

Happy eating!

Tags:

2 Responses to “Baby-related”

  1. jackiemania Says:

    This sounds delicious! I am def saving this one!

    Jackie,

  2. purlewe Says:

    YUMMY! thanks for sharing.

    About once a yr I want to eat stuffed peppers. I figure it is my grandmother’s influence wanting to visit with me. So I make them and sit down and have a good talk with her about how much I miss her. I wouldn’t eat them as a kid.. but I do love eating them now adn thinking of her.

Leave a Reply

