Again with the fast…

…everyone is sleeping and no one is screaming right now, so we’ll see how long this lasts. πŸ™‚

Ben is seeing a new OT at the private clinic we take him to once a week, and that has really been an adventure. He LOVES his PT, but when he first started seeing her (about this time last year at school) he wouldn’t do anything at all for her…he cried and refused to work at all for her for about two months. Looks like we are in for a repeat with his new OT…Last saturday I took him to therapy and he threw a 45 minute tantrum, screaming and crying whenever she laid hands on him. Yesterday Scott took him for an appointment, and there was less tantrum, but lots of ignoring and refusal to do anything. It’s tiring, but I know it’s just Ben being a kid. He’ll come around. In the meantime he is also getting OT at school, so at least he is getting some treatment until he decides to be friends.

At almost six weeks. life with Toby is starting to settle down. I”m wondering how and when I start worrying about working on a sleep routine with him. He’s sleeping for longer stretches, but new problems are starting to arise….like last night he was overly tired and fussy from about nine until eleven. I think he was overstimulated and over tired, and just fussed and cried. So if we start putting him to sleep at eight thirty or nine, will that solve the problem? Is six weeks to early? I’m not sure how babies work, and everyone seems to have a different opinion. You would think that after having done this once I would figure it out, but sleep is something we never had to worry about with Ben. We put him down in his crib and he slept. End of story. All night and two naps. So I’m not sure where to go with a baby who needs some help with the sleeping thing. I”m sure I”ll figure it out. I don’t want to wait too long so that he establishes a pattern of staying up late and not napping, but I don’t want to start too early when he’s not ready for a routine yet. Oh if only I had a manual!!!! Maybe on Ebay…. (haha)

The end of the week is finishing up big…tomorrow is Ben’s parent/teacher conference at school, and my six-week postpartum check, then Ben is going for a sleepover at grandma and grandpa’s house. Friday Scott has the day off for a physical in the morning, and we are taking Toby for his one month check in the afternoon. Friday night is dinner with my fam for my mom’s birthday. Happy Birthday, mom! We’re looking forward to seeing friends this weekend, and hunkering down on Sunday for a little quiet time.

Two blog updates in two weeks. I’m getting the hang of this two kids at home thing.

Tags: ,

4 Responses to “Again with the fast…”

  1. purlewe Says:

    I can look and see if I can find my friend’s suggestion for a book. Written by a scientist (and both her and her hubby are scientists) about sleep cycles. Once they got into that they have had no problems. Granted their kid goes to bed at 6 and gets up at 6, but they love the fact that they got the schudle down that works for her.

  2. Anonymous Says:

    hi

    i have yet to figure out the sleep stuff…still struggling. Here are two good books though:
    Happiest Baby on the Block (also a great DVD) and the No Cry Sleep Solution. Things start to get a lot better around 3 mos. Good Luck! J

Leave a Reply

