At 12:30 this afternoon, Ben gave up the good fight. He had been struggling, really struggling. Ben was surrounded by love, as he had been his whole life. More details as we get them.

30 Responses to “”

  1. purlewe Says:

    I love you guys

    I love you BEN!!

    We will miss you tons.

  2. Anonymous Says:

    My heart aches for you in your loss. Ben brought a lot of joy to the world. He was a great teacher. He’ll be missed.
    Love, Heather Wade

  3. Anonymous Says:

    We love you and are with you in our hearts.

    Brent and Family

  4. Anonymous Says:

    Scott and Kym
    Our thoughts are with you. Ben was such a special fellow-he brought alot of people together, and his sweet little face will be a wonderful memory for us. We are here for you if you need us for anything-you are such an incredible couple, you have taught us all so much with your love and strength.
    Love, John and Marsha

  5. Anonymous Says:

    We share in your heartbreak and are surrounding you with love and light. I am SO sorry! Many who didn’t ever know Ben have shared their sorrow with me, as well. I am here, if I can do anything more.

    Love,
    Carol

  6. Anonymous Says:

    love, love, love

    Joining you in that love circle. We will keep your family in our prayers.

    xo Rebecca

  7. photomonk2 Says:

    I am a friend of and I just wanted to pass along my condolences. Sounds like Ben was a true prince and I know he will be greatly missed. Take good care of yourselves.

  8. hunterholstein Says:

    I love you. Ben will always be one of my heroes. He taught us how to live life to the fullest. and was a true miracle. We were all very blessed to have him in our lives.

  9. Anonymous Says:

    goodbye darling boy

    We have all been taught so much by knowing Ben ..and by being a part of his life ..well done Kym and Scott…he was and will always be truly loved ..Trish and kevin

  10. chappysmom2 Says:

    Oh, I am so, so sorry.

  11. larkina1 Says:

    sweet baby boy Ben

    Scott and Kym-
    I’m so sorry to hear about Ben. The two of you were the best parents to a very special little boy. My heart aches for you.
    if there is ANYTHING we can do please let us know.
    Amanda And Ryan

  12. Anonymous Says:

    I am so sorry.

  13. Anonymous Says:

    Ben, we love you!

    Dear Kym and Scott,
    I heard the news and was so sad … but felt a peace knowing you were together when Ben passed. I’m so sorry for your loss. Ben will always be in our hearts and minds – always. Our Elizabeth especially loved his hugs and smiles at his birthday party. He was an amazing guy and you gave your all to him. We will never forget him, never. We will be praying for your peace through your grief process. Love you!
    Elizabeth, Colleen and Mark

  14. Anonymous Says:

    From Lena Hope

    Dear Scott and Kym,
    I am so shocked, I am so sorry! I had no idea that Ben had gotten worse, so this was completely unexpected for me. I understand that you were somewhat prepared, but I cannot imagine just how sad you feel.But you are right, gave Ben all your love and your heart and he had a good life.
    My thoughts are with you and will be with you always.
    Love,

    Lena Hope

  15. Anonymous Says:

    Sad Day…

    Scott and family,
    I am so sorry to hear about Ben! I’ve been following you guys closely since leaving Michigan and have enjoyed seeing updates on both boys. May you find peace in the amazingness of Ben’s short life during this difficult time. He was a precious little man that touched many lives and stole our hearts. My thoughts and prayers are with you guys.

    Much love,
    Aleesha

  16. jackiemania Says:

    I am so sorry. I only know a *fraction* of what you are going through, honey, but I know it is so so so so so hard. I am hysterical right now. So much love going to you and your family and Ben right now. I will keep you all in my hearts, very very close.

    Jackie.

  17. Anonymous Says:

    I’m So Sorry

    Kym and Family,
    I was so sorry to hear of Ben’s passing. Ben was such an inspiration and a true fighter. He was such a sweetheart. He was loved by all and will truly be missed. Please let me know if you need anything at all….even an ear to listen. Email me anytime at chiquita48073@yahoo.com.

    Love,
    Kim Reynolds (PCDS)

  18. Anonymous Says:

    Peaceful Sleep

    Dear Randall’s;
    I am a friend of your dad’s from Oakland Schools and was sad to hear the news of Ben’s passing. Your availability to love unconditionally and your embrace of the possible has been an honor to witness. You are in the thoughts and prayers of many. Thinking of you, Laura

  19. Anonymous Says:

    Ben touched the lives of many who never knew him, including myself and my family. His memory will live on forever through the love you showed him, and shared with those around you. It is amazing what we can learn from the smallest teacher. My heart is broken for you.

    God Bless,
    Jen, Chad and Dylan Sharp

  20. Anonymous Says:

    I was so sorry to hear about Ben. Our hearts go out to you.

    Lots of Love,

    Mia, Robert and Rose

  21. Anonymous Says:

    Hugs

    Hi Scott and Kym,
    I am so sorry. I know that this is one of those situations where there is absolutely nothing anyone can do or say except I am sorry, I am thinking of you, and if there *is* anything that you need please let me know. Love and Hugs. Kate

  22. squirrella Says:

    love and warmth to your family.

  23. Anonymous Says:

    I’m so sorry

    What a sweet child. You and your family are in my thoughts and prayers.

  24. Anonymous Says:

    Kym & Scott,
    We are so sorry for the loss of your wonderful boy. Ben was an inspiration to so many. Our thoughts are with you and we will keep your family in our prayers. We are here for you if you need anything.
    Much Love, Darlene & Juan

  25. motownjenn Says:

    Because I have loved life, I shall have no sorrow to die – Amelia Burr

    Kym, Scott and Tobey,

    My daughter Meghan and I have followed Ben’s tale from the womb, she was a senior in your class when you first learned of the challenges Ben faced and made the first hard decisions to stay home with him.

    Such a small person, such a big soul has created a ripple touching so many lives, so much wonder, joy and hope. There has not been a week in the past two years, that we have not cheered his successes, cried over his frustrations, wondered at his strength and tenacity and rejoiced at the love he evoked in all he touched.

    Thank you for sharing his special life with us all. Our thoughts, prayers and love is with you in this difficult time,

    Jenn & Meghan Borgesen (Mott, Class of 2006)

  26. Anonymous Says:

    Jocie Sends Love

    You and Scott have always been heroes of mine, and have risen even higher in my list of “the good guys” in the past few years. I love you lots and lots and hope you know how much you both mean to everyone who has the honor to meet you.
    Ben was SUCH a cool little guy. I was so lucky to meet him. Thank you for sharing him with the world and for helping him live with such joy and love.

    Jocie

  27. Anonymous Says:

    So Sorry

    I am so sorry!!! My prayers are with you and your family. Ben was such a miracle and taught me so much. He showed me how precious life is and always appreciate the time we have. I hope I have grown in my strength and treated the others in my world with more compassion as a lesson learned from Ben when he was born and showed such great strength, and I hope to continue as an honor to Ben and the lessons he has taught me.

    Love,
    Katie Muhleck

  28. marestellarum Says:

    I’m giving you, Scott, and Toby extremely huge mental hugs and I’ll be keeping you in my thoughts.

  29. rhiann31 Says:

    Kym and Scott…
    Even still I haven’t the words…much love to you.

    Ella, by way of Anj…

  30. crazycatladymel Says:

    Oh, hun, I’m so sorry. I’m months behind reading LJ, and didn’t see this until today. Many, many virtual hugs.

Leave a Reply

