Toby breaks Grandpa in

Thursday Toby stayed with Grandpa (my dad) for the day while I was at work. We had a conversation before I left that went like this:
me: “Dad, we just moved Toby up to a faster size bottle…so you have to feed him slowly. He won’t like it, but he’ll projectile vomit if you don’t because he eats so fast”
dad: “Don’t worry, we’ll be fine” (or some such)
me: “just take lots of breaks and burp him often while he’s eating…he’ll suck down eight ounces in no time and you’ll be sad”
dad “we’ll be fine”

When I returned to the house, Toby was in a clean outfit. I think that explains it all.

Toby’s night schedule has been off…for a few weeks he was consistently sleeping until five or six and getting up for a snack, then going right back to bed. The past few nights he’s been up at THREE…or just barely three. It’s like he’s a newborn again. And he’s HUNGRY…there is no waiting for the bottle. During the day he still goes three to four hours between a feeding (except last week when he grew and ate every two hours)…so everything else is pretty normal. I guess it will all work out. He still only wakes up once, and it’s towards early morning, so as far as I’m concerned he’s sleeping through the night. I can’t complain too much. 🙂

I went to a mom-to-mom sale today and found some AMAZING deals and cute things for Toby…not like he needs any clothes, but you know…he has to be cutting edge and stylish all the time.

There is a family near us that hospice referred us to that lost a son earlier this year. We have had their number and I have had a hard time calling…I don’t know exactly what to say when I make that call…is it appropriate to say “we both lost our kids”…I just don’t know. So anyway, the father called us this week and I spoke with him for a few mintues…he was a very nice guy. I think I would like to see them, maybe meet for coffee this week, Scott and I are talking about it. Maybe that would be good. I don’t know…it’s hard to talk to people we don’t know, and I am pretty sure that no one wants to sit and rehash their child’s death. So we’ll see how that goes. At least they seem like nice people!

One thing he did say is that they had a number of friends that had children of the same age, and now they have found themselves drifting away from those friends. I fear this happening. I am sure that there are some people that it will happen with, but I”m assuming it will be families we don’t know well…we’re friendly with them, but don’t know them well. I have a few friends that I met because of Ben and I am really hoping that our friendships will withstand this…mostly we have things in common other than the fact that our children had Down Syndrome, or they have children that are now Toby’s age. I have high hopes.

This week was a rough week. Let’s hope the coming week is a bit easier.

Tags: , , , ,

2 Responses to “Toby breaks Grandpa in”

  1. zoobily_zoo Says:

    Haha, I didn’t know that anyone else knew about Great Big Sea. I saw their concert in Newfoundland a few years ago, and ran into them all in a pub afterwards. My “big celebrity encounter”. I’ll have to show you pictures sometime.

    How did the car ride home go on Friday?

  2. Anonymous Says:

    Oh, so many changes!

    Dear Kym,

    Thanks once again for your honest and open sharing–the joys, the wonderments, the uncertainties, and the sorrow.

    I would be quite surprised if the bereaved parents you may meet don’t want to rehash their son’s death. Who better to understand each other than you two couples? When I went (reluctantly at first) to a grief group, we all so appreciated that someone WANTED to listen to our stories; that someone understood our frequent tears or when we didn’t have any tears. I highly encourage you and Scott to follow up with these folks. If you four don’t “click”, that’s one thing. But you won’t know unless you give it a try. I think you’ll find the words won’t be difficult once you’re face to face.

    Keeping you two and “big Toby” in my prayers daily. I’d love to see more pictures.

    Love,
    Carol

Leave a Reply

