I don’t think I have the energy to post pictures tonight, and there are a bunch on the camera that aren’t in the computer, but I have the time to update, and I haven’t in awhile, so I’ll just have to get to the pictures later. Toby is doing so well, and is really starting to leave that “newborn” phase and enter the “fun baby” phase…he’s really enjoying interacting with Scott and I, which is a joy for us. He’s not rolling yet, but tolerates being on his tummy for longer periods of time, and really loves to look around while he’s there. We have to be careful of the TV…it’s not on much, but when it is, he is drawn to it like, well, the proverbial moth to a flame. Because it’s big and glowing and shiny! I can’t believe how STRONG he is, and I know it’s just plain old normal baby stuff, but jeeze is he ever STRONG. This weekend he started lifting his head and shoulders up from a laying position….like little baby crunches. If we are feeding him, he is semi-sitting, and he really wants to pull himself up to a sitting position to be burped. He is really excited about DOING. IT. HIMSELF. He’s also starting to do this in his bouncy chair and his swing. I don’t think he’ll be in either one of them too much longer…both because of weight and because he is too strong and will be able to tip out pretty soon. He loves to be pulled to a sitting position to look around, especially when the cat is present to gawk at. Grabbing is a regular thing now, as is putting things in his mouth. Both are really fun to watch…he is able to play on his play mat for a few minutes on his own, grabbing rings and pulling on them.

While Toby sleeps really well at night (he has a bedtime, which he adheres to nicely, and sleeps all night until about seven AM..which is great!), naps are another story, and it’s starting to worry me. He will take a morning nap in his crib, but that is only a short nap…and it takes a long time to get him calmed down. The afternoon nap in the crib…well, that’s not going so well. I only have myself to blame, because usually we are out and about during the afternoon so Toby sleeps in the car. I have to start being home more in the afternoons, so that I can start training him to go to sleep in the daytime. If I get him asleep, the minute he wakes up, he fusses and won’t put himself back to sleep. I don’t know why, but I suspect it’s because at night it’s dark, and he has become used to falling back asleep, like we all do at night. During the day when it’s light, he wakes up and can’t put himself back to sleep yet. The other bad thing is that until now, I’ve let him take his afternoon nap in the swing, which is becoming a problem because I think he is fast approaching the weight limit (I’m fairly certain the limit is 20 lbs, and he was 16 about three weeks ago). So pretty soon, there will be no swing to nap in. Toby LOVES to nap on me, and while I enjoy that, I rely on his naptime to get some things done around the house.

The good thing about all of this is that he has a rather reliable schedule now, so it’s just a matter of me biting the bullet and taking a week or so to train him to go to sleep in his crib during the day. I don’t think it will take too long, but I have to commit to getting it done if I want it to work. Once he gets used to it, he’ll nap that way forever.

I guess for some people things like this don’t matter, but I firmly believe that kids need at least some semblance of a schedule. Sure, the schedule gets stretched around sometimes, but predictability is important. Maybe that is more for me than for Toby, but I don’t care….this is a non-negotiable item for me: this feeding and nap structure.

On the whole, we got so very lucky. After Ben (“The Easiest Baby on the Planet”), Scott and I were really worried we would get some kind of hell-child that would really put us through the ringer, but Toby is every bit as good natured as Ben was. He’s happy and easy to be with, and I’m so thankful for that. I can’t complain too much, because I have very little to complain about!

I’m pretty committed to not starting solids with Toby until he reaches six months, but I wonder at the rate he’s going if he’ll need to start cereal earlier. Right now he eats every 3-4 hours, which is fairly normal, but he eats A LOT…but he’s big, so I expect that. I wonder if he’s going to get to the point where his caloric needs outstrip the size of his tummy. I’ll check with the doctor, but I don’t see that happening yet, so I don’t need to worry about it until it becomes an issue. Since he has pretty good head and shoulder control, Scott and I are thinking about pulling out the high chair and trying that out, though. I think he’ll like the view from it when we’re in the kitchen, as opposed to being on the floor in the bouncy seat. Plus, there is the added bonus of the tray to put toys on and see what he’ll do.

Tags: , , ,

7 Responses to “”

  1. zoobily_zoo Says:

    I’m so glad to hear that he is doing well! The weight limit on the swing is 20 pounds, but it’s not a matter of it breaking, it just simply doesn’t have the power to swing after 20 pounds. Tristan sat in it all the time before you guys borrowed it, and he’s around 30. We got into the same habit with Victoria napping in the swing. Now she naps in our bed away from the noise. Which I will admit isn’t a huge step up, but we get through the day and everyone is happy. Good luck with the schedule! That was always tough for us.

  2. Anonymous Says:

    Giggle!

    Sounds like Toby is a handfull! Maybe he’s such an easy baby because you and Scott are such great parents! Your posting makes me giggle. I enjoy reading about your discoveries & joys of Ben & Toby. I miss Ben and think of you all often.
    Hugs to you,
    Heather

  3. Anonymous Says:

    I’m outa here!

    Reaching, grabbing, putting things in his mouth…I’ll be in Bermuda until he gets out of that phase. Call me.

    The Cat.

  4. Anonymous Says:

    Unsolicited advice … I hear that parents LOVE that!

    So I am actually a lot like Toby in that I have a hard time sleeping if it is not totally dark in a room (I also get grumpy if I skip my nap). Anyway, I found this really great fabric – I will try to figure out the brand name, but I got it at Jo-Ann, so if you go and explain it I’m sure they’ll be able to point you to the right thing. It is two layers of quilted fabric with an insulating layer in between (the insulation looks like thin tin foil). The company has great instructions online showing you how to make a simple shade out of the fabric (you can cover it with whatever pretty fabric you like and you pretty much only have to sew straight lines). The fabric not only blocks out ALL light, but it also insulates REALLY well – especially keeps the room cool in the summer. They recommend that to get a good seal you put magnets in the seams and magnets on the wall as well, but I find that it still does a great job even without the magnets. Anyway, hope it helps – it definitely made a HUGE difference for me. (The fabric is kind of expensive, but Jo-Ann usually has a coupon in the paper which makes it reasonable – but definitely take the coupon).

    • coffeemomma Says:

      Re: Unsolicited advice … I hear that parents LOVE that!

      This is a GREAT idea. I was thinking of making some different curtains (he just has shades in his room, along with the blind). We’re kicking ourselves for not getting the light-blocking blinds. They don’t seem so expensive now.

      • Anonymous Says:

        Re: Unsolicited advice … I hear that parents LOVE that!

        Bed Bath and Beyond sells blackout curtains. They aren’t with the curtains – they are in the alcove that has the curtain rods. They are folded up in a ~ 8 x 12 envelope.

        Happy napping!

Leave a Reply

