Onties

Before I get to the end of this entry and forget, there are lots of pictures of the weekend with the “onties” (aunts) on our Flickr photo site.  The link is to the left there, where it says “our photo site on flickr”. 

We had a marvelous time, just marvelous.  Melon and Anj (

and

) got here on thursday and we went out for WAAAAY too much Sushi…after rolling ourselves out of Cherry Blossom (voted best sushi in detroit for a reason), the giggling and merrymaking commenced.  We went to see the sheep on Friday (Toby really liked the sheep!), I learned how to spin (yarn, not stories, the fiber kind), we had a cookout with mom and dad and Karen on Saturday…we ate too much and laughed too much and talked about all the things you can’t talk about with just anyone.  I miss them terribly already.  ๐Ÿ™‚  Toby, for his part, LOVED his onties, and had a great time flirting, smiling, giggling, playing and having fun.  On monday he slept A LOT…I guess he was all tired out.  ๐Ÿ™‚
It’s kind of odd, but after having the girls here, it’s almost as if the funeral for Ben is really over now.  Like life really does have to get back to normal now.  They didn’t come in for the funeral because there would have been very little time to spend together.  And even though their visit was really fun, and cheerful and relaxing and just great, it was also still a way of mourning Ben, but a very different way.  I have been looking forward to that visit since we planned it in late february, and there is a bit of let down now that it’s over and they are gone.  This is all kind of morbid and sad and a terrible way to end an entry about such good friends, but it’s true.  It’s kind of sad that they are gone for lots of reasons. 

Tomorrow Toby and I are going to school to visit Ben’s teachers.  I”m excited to see them, but I’m also a little nervous about going to school.  I have been putting it off because there are so many memories with Ben there.  I’ll let you know how it goes.

Toby is doing much better at napping in his crib now, thanks to me staying home more (not as much napping in the car) and him being tired out (from going outside more).  It’s a nice thing, to have that naptime back.  He’s still a bit fussy, but I think he’s turning into a really good sleeper.  That makes me happy.  Sleep is non-negotiable around here, Scott and I both need lots of it. 

I’ll post some more pictures later in the week!

3 Responses to “Onties”

  1. hunterholstein Says:

    How sweet. I understand the “end of the funeral” thing. The visit brought closure, and an opening to TobyToast’s life and times. I had a blast, and can’t wait to do it again.

  2. purlewe Says:

    I too have been kinda blue. I feel the same way babe. I think that ending anything is just plain hard. But I am so glad we came to see you and the fam. I just miss you (and Melon, and S and T) so much!!

  3. Anonymous Says:

    Feeling better !

    Bet you are not quite sure how to handle feeling a little normal again….?? good for you..and good for toby allowing you to sleep a bit more ..he’s a star … hope to see you at Rick and karen’s ..Love trish xo

Leave a Reply

