When it rains it pours

As far as Journal entries, anyway…three posts in two days. geez.

I have to get some thoughts out about some things that are on my mind. I have been reading a new blog lately…it is a woman who I found on Flickr. She has a daughter with DS, and four other children. Her kids range in age from 16 to 3.

Because it’s what I do, I have been reading back through the archives on her blog, and I”ve learned a little about her. She has a college education. She has had a really bad marriage that has been on again off again twice, and now she has no idea where her husband is. he occasionaly sends Child support payments, apparently. She has tried to get work, but has been turned down because what she can work (due to child care issues) keeps telling her that she is overqualified for what they have. her income is the SSI she gets for her daughter.

At one time, this woman had a life like me. She was married, she worked, she wasn’t rich but she had a comfortable life. Things have changed drastically. Couple this with the stress and additional cost of a child who is differently abled, and life is probably not what she imagined for herself. On top of this, her fifteen year old daughter is now pregnant.

I cannot get this family out of my mind. I cannot stop thinking of this woman and her kids. I want to do something, and I am paralyzed by not knowing what to do. I don’t want to try and do something and wind up offending her…and really, I don’t know her at all….We have corresponded by Email a few times and exchanged some pictures, but that is about it. I just can’t stop thinking about this woman and her situation. Maybe if I keep thinking, something will dawn on me that I can do to help.

you can read her blog at http://www.alwayschaosaroundhere.blogspot.com

In a totally unrelated matter…

I am thinking of moving this blog to blogspot. I know a few people that have blogs over there, so I checked it out and WOW is it easy to use. I”m wondering if I”ll lose readers by moving, and I’m also wondering if I move and post a link to it on this page, is Live Journal going to be nazi-ish and take my blog down here.

Why am I worried about all of this? I need to just move and be done with it. 🙂

2 Responses to “When it rains it pours”

  1. twoscoopsmsu Says:

    I don’t think livejournal will take your blog down. I’ve had a few friends who have moved over to blogspot.

    I need to take some time and read this blog. Not at work though 🙂

  2. purlewe Says:

    nah. they won’t be nazi-ish. the only problem I see is for us on your friends list would need to remember to check your other blog (not hard) and if you want to read any locked posts (like most of mine) you would have to remember to sign in here (sometimes a pain)

    Blogspot is a good vehicle that is more.. public in nature. The nice thing about lj is that you can lock the posts, make custom friends lists to read only certain issues, and screen the comments. if you were to goto blo0gspot you wouldn’t be able to do those things.. but putting pictures up would be hella easier. so it is all up to you.

    regarding the woman and her situation… you will find something that will make you feel like you have helped in some way.. it will come to you. you have the biggest heart of anyone I know.

Leave a comment